Newsletter Subscription!

Stay updated on everything YSI

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

About Us

The Youth Science Institute (YSI) is a 501(c)(3), non-profit organization whose mission is "to inspire enthusiasm for science and a love of learning". We fulfill our mission by offering hands-on, nature-based, science education to children, families, and the general public. We offer School and Group Programs, Summer Science Camps, weekend Science Safaris, and annual community events. Many of our programs include live animals and nature hikes. Each year, we deliver inquiry-based life, physical, earth, and social science to nearly 30,000 pre-K to sixth-grade students. Since our founding in 1953, we have served hundreds of thousands of children.

YSI maintains three Science and Nature Centers, where we deliver our hands-on science and experiential environmental education programs: Alum Rock Park, San Jose, CA; Sanborn County Park, Saratoga, CA; and Vasona Lake County Park, Los Gatos, CA. Each Center has unique artifacts, collections, and resources that connect the public with nature while teaching science.

Our Board of Directors.

Pam Hoult, President

Robin O'Hern, Secretary

Sandy Knell, Treasurer

Meghan Burton, Director

Kris Ingram, Director

Robert Larsen, Director

Marisol Mendoza, Director

Eva Uzun, Director

Joe Van Sambeek, Director

Our Staff.

Erika Buck, Executive Director
erika@ysi-ca.org

Marc Cooper, Program Manager - School & Group Programs
marc@ysi-ca.org

Cassie Vaniotis, Program Manager - Camp Programs

cassie@ysi-ca.org

Haley Skov, Science Education Specialist
haley@ysi-ca.org

Dorothy Johnson, Senior Animal Curator
dj@ysi-ca.org

Serena Flores, Wildlife and Nature Center Interpreter
serena@ysi-ca.org

Glen Marchant, Animal Curator
glen@ysi-ca.org

Instructors
Colter Cook
Allyson Dudzinski
Ros Edmonds
Vanessa Ferkel
Elizabeth Geurts
Janet Hoffmann
Sarah Huckaby
Olivia Kramer
Kai Lange
Jasmin Moreno
Sarah Porter
Alex Schord
Jordan Sortino

IRS Form 990 (click to download PDF copy).

Financial Statements (click to download PDF copy).

YSI Policies.

YSI In The News.